Storming and Stormy Racing at Copperopolis

Milton, CA

7 April 2012

A terrific day of spring saw excellent road racing at the 32nd Copperopolis Road Race presented by Velo Promo and the Golden Chain Cyclists. In the race for Women 1-2, Rebbecca Werner (SportVelo Racing) came home solo for the win in an outstanding effort to escape the likes of Devon Gorry (NOW and Novartis for MS), Marley Smith (Stevens Bikes p/b Pactimo), Loren Rowney (Specialized-lululemon), Beth Newell (NOW and Novartis for MS), plus a slew of other top NorCal racers. Werner and Olivia Dillon (NOW and Novartis for MS) broke away on the second of three laps but Dillon suffered a flat, leaving Werner to race away. Gorry finished in second, Newell in third, whilst Amber Gaffney (SC VELO/Empower Coaching) came home in fourth and Heather Van Sickle crossed the line in fifth.

For Men Pro-1-2, a three-racer break got away on the third lap and almost stayed ahead were it not for some excellent cycling by Kirk Carlsen ( On the last lap, Carlsen, by himself, bridged to the breakaway reaching them with about 10 miles to go. From there, Carlsen kept up the pressure and crossed the finish line first ahead of Mauricio Prado (Allegiant Airlines/Pain MD' However, this superb effort was marred by vocal jousting immediately after the finish line; Prado was elevated to first place with Carlsen disqualified for "abusive language". With everybody else moving up a position, Johnathan Teeter (Marc Pro-Strava) inherited second, Stephen Leece (California Giant/Specialized) earned third place. Fourth place went to Max Jenkins (Competitive Cyclist Racing Team) whilst James Stemper (Kenda/5-Hour Energy p/b Geargrinder) took the fifth spot.

For Master Men 35+ 1-2-3, Andres Gil (Michael David Winery Cycling Team) won the race to add to his lead in the NCNCA 2012 Premier Series. Jonathan Eropkin (SAFEWAY/GA PRC Group/Bicycles Plus) was second ahead of Kevin Klein (HDR Racing p/b Lombardi Sports). Daniel Martin (SAFEWAY/GA PRC Group/Bicycles Plus) crossed for fourth place and Paul Drywal ( came home in fifth.

Don Langley (Team Specialized Racing Masters) won the race for Master Men 45+ 1-2-3. Stanley Terusaki (Morgan Stanley/Specialized) finished in second place with Jan Elsbach (VOS Racing) taking third. David Passmore (Berkeley Bicycle Club) took fourth place ahead of Alex Osborne ( in fifth.

Current standings for the NCNCA 2012 Premier Series are posted on NCNCA Road; official results remain the NCNCA.

2014 © NCNCA | All rights reserved | | Contact the Webmaster
Northern California Nevada Cycling Association